How to reset or factory restore HP TouchPad 4G device?
Resetting or factory restoring a device is usually recommended when the device is experiencing multiple issues, or when you want to sell, donate or give away the device as it will be personalized. HP TouchPad 4G offers multiple methods to reset the device, including via the HP TouchPad WebOS app, HP recovery console, or via the bootloader.
Method 1: Using HP Touchpad WebOS app
1. Open the HP WebOS app on your computer
2. Click on Settings
3. Tap Home Screen & More
4. Tap it again to reveal Advanced Home Screen Settings
5. Scroll down to the bottom and tap Clear Preferences
6. Do not do anything else
7. Connect your HP TouchPad 4G device to your computer using the provided USB cable
8. Start the HP TouchPad 4G device and wait for the webOS app to load
9. Tap on Options and select Clear Preferences
10. Confirm the warning message that pops up and wait for the device to reset
11. Once the device resets, you will be prompted to set up the device as if it were new.
Method 2: Using HP recovery console
1. Connect your HP TouchPad 4G device to your computer using the provided USB cable
2. Open a command prompt on your computer
3. Type command to check if the device is detected
4. Type fastboot devices to check if the USB debugging is enabled on the device
5. If not, connect the device to the power source and the computer
6. Type fastboot flashing erase in the command prompt and press Enter
7. Type fastboot reboot in the command prompt and press Enter
8. Wait for the device to restart
Method 3: Using bootloader
1. Connect your HP TouchPad 4G device to your computer using the provided USB cable
2. Open a command prompt on your computer
3. Type command to check if the device is detected
4. Type fastboot devices to check if the USB debugging is enabled on the device
5. If not, connect the device to the power source and the computer
6. Type fastboot flash bootloader.image in the command prompt and press Enter
7. Wait for the device to restart
In all three methods, it's important to note that this action will erase all data and settings on the device, so make sure you have a backup of any important information before proceeding. Also, if you need to restore a personalized data on the device, you will have to go through the setup process, but if you need to restore a clean device, it recommended to choose method 1, as it is less complicated and less risky.